15 payer CEO moves in the 1st half of 2023

Fifteen payer president and CEO moves reported by Becker's since January 1:

  • Blue Cross of Idaho named Paul Zurlo as the company's next president and CEO, effective in 2024.

  • AHIP President and CEO Matt Eyles plans to resign from the trade association, effective Oct. 2.

  • CVS Health named Brian Kane as executive vice president and president of Aetna, effective Sept. 1.

  • BCBS Nebraska named Jeff Russell as president and CEO, effective June 26.

  • ConnectiCare, a subsidiary of EmblemHealth, named Mark Meador as its next president in June.

  • Anthem BCBS Virginia named Monica Schmude as president in April after 13 years at Cigna.

  • Humana's President and CEO Bruce Broussard stepped down as chair of the company's foundation in April and was replaced by the company's longest serving board member, David Jones Jr.

  • PacificSource Health Plans named John Espinola, MD, as president and CEO, effective April 3. 

  • SelectHealth, the nonprofit insurance arm of Salt Lake City-based Intermountain Health, named Curt Howell as president of its Colorado market in March.

  • Oscar Health named former Aetna CEO Mark Bertolini as the company's next chief executive in March.

  • WPS Health Solutions named Wendy Perkins as its next president and CEO in March.

  • Molina Healthcare named Terrisca Des Jardins as president of its Michigan plan in March.

  • SelectHealth named Rob Hitchcock as president and CEO in February.

  • Clover Health's former president Andrew Toy became CEO in January.

  • BCBS Massachusetts CEO Sarah Iselin assumed her new role in January.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Top 40 articles from the past 6 months