Meet Centene's board of directors

Centene's board of directors is made of a wide range of leaders, including former business executives and government and military leaders. 

Here are the 13 directors of the St. Louis-based insurer: 

H. James Dallas is chair of Centene's board of directors. He retired as CIO of medical device company Medtronic in 2013. He runs the leadership consulting firm James Dallas and Associates. 

Sarah London is Centene's CEO. She was appointed in 2022. 

Orlando Ayala retired from Microsoft in 2016. He held several senior roles at the company, including corporate vice president of emerging business and global executive vice president of sales, marketing and services. 

Jessica Blume retired as vice chair of Deloitte in 2015. She also serves on the board of Publix Supermarkets, according to her LinkedIn. 

Kenneth Burdick is CEO of LifeStance Health, a behavioral healthcare company. He was executive vice president of products and markets for Centene from 2020 to 2021, and was CEO of WellCare from 2015 until the company was acquired by Centene in 2020. 

Christopher Coughlin retired as senior adviser to the CEO of security systems company Tyco International in 2012. He served as CFO of the company from 2005 to 2010. He also serves on the board of directors of biotech company Karuna Therapeutics and distributor Prestige Consumer Healthcare. 

Wayne DeVeydt is executive chair of Surgery Partners and a managing director at investment firm Bain Capital. Mr. Deveydt was Surgery Partners' CEO from 2018 to 2020, and previously served as CFO of Anthem. He also serves on the boards of healthcare payments company Zelis. 

Frederick Eppinger is CEO of Stewart Title Guaranty Company. He also serves on the board of QBE Insurance Group. 

Monte Ford is a principal partner at the Chief Information Officer Strategy Exchange, a cross-industry group of CIOs. He previously served as CIO of American Airlines and CEO of software company Aptean. He is also on the board of directors for JetBlue Airways and information management company Iron Mountain. 

Richard Gephardt was a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1977 to 2005. He was House majority leader from 1989 to 1995. He is president and CEO of consulting firm the Gephardt Group. 

Lori Robinson is a retired U.S. Air Force general. Prior to her retirement in 2018, she was the highest ranking woman in U.S. military history. 

Theodore Samuels retired as president of Capital Guardian Trust Company in 2016. He also serves on the board of pharmaceutical company Perrigo.

William Trubeck is a retired CFO of H&R Block. Mr. Trubeck also formerly served as CFO, director, and executive vice president of YRC Worldwide. 

Mr. Trubeck, Mr. Gephardt and Mr. Ayala will step down before Centene's 2023 annual meeting, bringing the size of the board from 13 members to 10, according to regulatory documents filed in October 2022. 

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Top 40 articles from the past 6 months