Meet UnitedHealth Group's Board of Directors

UnitedHealth Group's Board of Directors is made of a wide range of former business executives, top medical leaders, and voices from tech and other industries. 

Here are the nine directors of the nation's largest health insurer: 

  1. Andrew Witty is UnitedHealth Group's CEO. He has led the company since February 2021. 

  2. Stephen Hemsley is the chair of UnitedHealth's board of directors. He was CEO of UnitedHealth Group from 2006 to 2017.

  3. Michele Hooper is the lead independent director of the board, where she has served since 2007. Ms. Hooper is president and CEO of the Directors Council, an organization that advises corporations on strengthening and diversifying corporate boards. She also serves on the board of United Airlines.

  4. Timothy Flynn has served on the board since 2017. Mr. Flynn was chair of professional services group KPMG International from 2007 until his retirement in 2011. He also serves on the boards of J.P Morgan and Walmart. 

  5. Paul Garcia is the former CEO and chair of payment technology company Global Payments, where he served until his retirement in 2013. He has been a member of the UnitedHealth Group board since 2021 and also serves on the boards of Deluxe and Repay Holdings.

  6. Kristen Gil is the vice president and business finance officer of Alphabet, the parent company of Google. Ms. Gil has served in various senior roles with the tech giant since 2007. She joined UnitedHealth's board in 2022. 

  7. F. William McNabb is the former chair and CEO of investment management company the Vanguard Group, where he served until 2018. He has been a member of the UnitedHealth board since 2018. He is also a director at IBM.

  8. Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD, is president and CEO of the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta. She joined as a director in 2017. She also serves on the board of mental healthcare provider Wellpath and global health equity organization CARE.

  9. John Noseworthy, MD, was resident and CEO of Rochester, Minn.-based Mayo Clinic from 2009 to 2018. Dr. Noseworthy joined UnitedHealth's board in 2019.


Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Top 40 articles from the past 6 months