10 states where Medicaid redeterminations will continue past June

A total of 40 states will complete the Medicaid redetermination process by June 2024, while a few are expected to continue into the second half of the year and beyond. 

According to documents published by CMS on May 31, 10 states and Washington, D.C., are projected to extend Medicaid redeterminations past the original deadline. 

Here is when CMS expects nine states and Washington, D.C., to complete the majority of the process: 

July: Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, New Jersey, Wisconsin  

August: Hawaii, South Carolina 

November: North Carolina

2025: Alaska, District of Columbia

New York is still determining a final date to complete its unwinding process, according to CMS. 

States began the process of redetermining the eligibility of Medicaid recipients for the first time since 2020 in April 2023. States had 12 months to complete the process, but some asked for voluntary waivers from CMS and others were required to pause disenrollments by the agency, according to KFF. 

As of June 14, 23 million people have been disenrolled from Medicaid through the redeterminations process, according to KFF. Another 51 million people have had their coverage renewed, while 20 million renewals have yet to be evaluated. 

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Top 40 articles from the past 6 months